I Make Milk – Latch, Pump And Supplement but Prayer works

I make milk.

Yes, my baby is exclusively breastfed since birth up until now that he is turning 9 months.

I make enough milk for my baby and donate some. Yes, I had low milk supply at 3 months and after 1 month, I overcame and now I have abundant milk supply.

Here are my journey and secrets in my abundant milk supply.

Attend a breastfeeding seminar.

This is what I learned, first and foremost, you need to have the right breastfeeding knowledge to learn the benefits of breast milk to decide for your yourself that you will exclusively breastfeed your baby. Learn proper latching as milk is dictated by law of supply and demand. If your baby do not suckle properly and empty your breast because of poor latching, your milk supply will go low. Also, your baby will learn to latch over time. Around 6 weeks when your milk supply will stabilize, meaning your body has adjusted demand of your baby and your supply will adjust accordingly. If you are working mom and decided to exclusively breastfeed, you must learn ways to expressing milk to feed your baby while you are away, proper infant feeding when you are away, like cup feeding to avoid nipple confusion. Learn proper storage of expressed milk and its shelf life to minimize contamination and risk for your baby. Be sure to take care of yourself by getting good nutrition, adequate fluid, and lots of rest and managing stress.

Highly recommend to attend a breastfeeding class since information will be presented in cohesive and organized manner. All you questions and problems maybe discussed there and saves you the worry and stress in managing your breastfeeding challenges. If you do not have time, make time. If it’s costly, attend free seminars.

2013-11-16 12.39.08

I joined breast feeding club under Ms. Abbie Yabot a LLL leader and attended 3 classes on breast feeding at 2 hours each class meeting once a month at Medala House. I was properly equipped in the seminar and I got materials that I can review when I need to recall some info in bf. If you are to breastfeed for the next 6 months to 2 years and breastfeeding is 24/7 then a 6 hours to learn is basics to weaning is a good investment. Also it was here that I was inspired to donate milk and support other mothers who may need help in breastfeeding their babies.

Unang yakap to initiate breast milk production at birth.

At birth of my son, my pediatrician established skin to skin or “unang yakap”. Since I was CS, my OB made sure that there is no retained placenta. These two helped to initiate milk production. So I had no problem breastfeeding and also my pediatrician see to it that my baby was properly latch and I was given instruction on breastfeeding and infant care before discharge from the hospital.

Belief and confidence on yourself that you have enough milk for you baby. Be positive to naturally produce prolactin and oxytocin, they are naturally occurring chemicals in our human body to produce milk.

After 1 week of from discharge from the hospital my baby gained weight. My pediatrician who is also my “Ate”, was very happy because of weight gain of 150 grams with exclusive breastfeeding. And baby gained weight each month and weighed more than what is the mean for his age.

At 6 weeks, I bought a Medela manual pump since I was returning to work in 2 weeks. I did the drill to build my stash for baby to consume while I was a work. The rule for feeding milk to baby is 1 oz. per hour. I left baby for 2 hours but I left 2 oz. of breast milk for baby. Then, I left for 4 hours and pump at 2 hours while I was away so that I bring home bm for baby. Then I left for 6 hours and pumping every 2 hours. then finally I left for 8 hours. This exercise helped my care giver or “yaya” feed my baby with the cup feeding. I chose cup feeding to avoid nipple confusion for my baby. Cup feeding is giving breast milk in a cup where baby needs to lap with his tongue, a mammal or a dogs laps for water. Lapping has the same movement of tongue as suckling thus, exercises the jaws too.

I returned work on November 18, 2014 and I was manually pumping at work every 2-3 hours. I was happy, I was able to take home about 12.5 oz to 15 oz. of breast milk. My baby only consumes 10-12 oz. per day. I had extra so I donated some to Medela house and they bring them to PGH, PCMC and Fabella hospital who has a Human milk bank.

What to eat and galactagogues?

The National Institute of Nutrition recommends that breastfeeding mums take iron, folic and calcium supplements. You may also need supplements of vitamin A, zinc, vitamin B12 and vitamin C.

It would be best to speak to your doctor before taking any vitamin supplements. If you do take supplements, bear in mind that it can’t make up for poor eating habits. It is also important to eat a well-balanced, varied diet. Sourced at click here.

I learned from seminars and reading articles and books on increasing breast milk, that there is no proven effective galactagogues or breast milk increasing food or supplements. Some are effective to some and some are not affective to others. As per Prolacta, they are selling malunggay capsule. They said they have not found the exact compound found in malunggay that helps produce more milk. but Malunggay has multivitamins with high in iron.

With the thought, I made sure I was eating right and I had good nutrition that is why I supplement using my pre-natal vitamins. I take Nutrilite organic vitamins and supplements. I was talking Nutrilite Daily multivitamins, Nutrilite Iron Folic Plus, Nutrilite Cal Mag D and Nutrilite Omega 3. Nutrilite comes with 90 days money back guarantee so if you want to try you can order here.

My breast feeding challenges:

My baby is is tongue-tied. Breastfeeding him at first was painful but I had high tolerance of pain so I survived but I end up buying nipple cream to help ease the soreness.

2014-04-16 22.50.03

Pumping in the office

After 2 months of manually pumping I was getting tired and it was taking too much time from my work. Our office do not have a lactation station but I asked permission from accounting department to allow me to use a corner in their office for me to manually pump breast milk.

At 3 months, I experience a low milk supply and after a month, I overcame and now I have an abundant milk supply.

What happened and what did I do?

This is what happened to me at my third month of breastfeeding and pumping, I ran out of Nutrilite Daily multivitamins and I did not buy because I wanted to shift to Nutrilite Double X, the multivitamins I was taking before I got pregnant and during my high risk pregnancy to give me extra energy since I was a working mom. Nutrilite Double X multivitamins have the right amount of vitamins, minerals and phytonutrients that is maybe why I have abundant milk supply though I don’t consider them as galactagogues but I learned that all galactagogues have are usually multivitamins with high iron content, some have vitamin C, vitamin K, beta-carotene, iron, calcium and vitamins and minerals, manganese, oils and fiber. All of which are available in Nutrilite click here for more info.

But, Nutrilite Double X ran out of stock and I waited for the new stock. As I wait, my supply went low, as I was pumping about 0.5 oz. of breast milk every 2-3 hours but I usually get 2.5 to 3 oz. before. I was not getting engorged and I was not leaking when baby is latching.

The Pump

I checked parts of my pump, there was a tear in the membrane so I ordered the parts. But still my output was low. I learned to massage my breast to produce more while manually pumping. I was bringing home about 5-7.5 oz of milk.

Wet Nurse & Prayer

But Praise God because there is a nursing mother in our neighborhood that became my baby’s wet nurse. And to make the situation worse, I had to attend an overnight planning session with our couples D group. I took the leap of faith of say yes in attending and I was not sure if can build my stash since I was producing less than what baby consumes. I ask for prayers from my D group that my breast milk output will increase.

GALACTAGOGUES AND NUTRILITE DOUBLE X

I took recommended galactagogues. I ordered online lactation cookies and treats for 2 months. I bought Lifeoil (Malunggay oil). But I was still taking Iron Folic plus and Cal Mag D. Finally a few days before the planning session, I was able to order Nutrilite Double X.

DOUBLE X PROVIDE THE COMPLETE NUTRITION AND EXTRA ENERGY I NEED AS A WORKING AND BREASTFEEDING MOM. WITH NUTRILITE MY BODY CAN REST WELL AT NIGHT, REPAIR AND RECUPERATE MY TIRED BODY

NUTRILITE DOUBLE X – 62 SET SUPPLY – GOOD FOR 2 MONTHS
NUTRILITE DOUBLE X 62

NUTRILITE DOUBLE X – REFILL 124 SET SUPPLY – GOOD FOR 4 MONTHS
NUTRILITE DOUBLE X 124

PRAYER WORKS

I asked my nursing neighbor to breastfeed my baby at the end of the day so I can build a stash but it was not enough for an overnight away from baby. We went to the planning session and my prayers were answered. My abundant supply came back. I was getting engorged. I had to say, that I put God first whether my prayer will be answered. When God saw that I trusted Him to provide for my baby and for Him to answered my prayers, for me to learn faith in practice. I thank God that He blessed my efforts to make milk. And my baby learned proper latching as he can stimulate my breast as I experience milk ejection reflex.

REFLECTIONS

This is what I learned from all my experiences of low supply of milk to abundant milk supply, before I was pumping around 2.5 to 3 oz. per session now, its 4.5 to 5 oz. per session.

1) Prayer works. God will bless my efforts to increase milk supply. Also, I now use Medela Freestyle double electric pump. My boss gave me cash advance which I paid in 3 months. but the bigger answered prayer was I got a salary increase after 3 months returning from my maternity leave of 8 months. Only God can orchestrate that.
2) Baby needs to learn proper latch. I had lots of milk before to the point my baby do not need to suckle hard. Then my milk supply stabilized that baby needs to stimulate milk production through proper latch.
3) Rest, do not try to do it all. Ask help from family members. Catch up on sleep so body can repair and recuperate. Breastfeeding means breast milk production. You are a machine that needs proper maintenance to properly work.
4) Good nutrition but with my busyness I do not eat right and with Nutrilite, the high quality organic supplement, I am sure I get balance nutrition and extra energy that I need to thrive as wife, mother, nursing mom and working mom.

Thus, I make milk, abundantly.

Leave a Reply

